Read Sigfrids Tod by Diana L. Paxson Helmut W. Pesch Online

sigfrids-tod

Continues the story of Siegfried and Brunhilde. Sequel to The Wolf and the Raven....

Title : Sigfrids Tod
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9783404203871
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 574 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Sigfrids Tod Reviews

  • Steve Cran
    2019-06-15 00:56

    THe wheels of treachery are set into motion as the treachery of Grimhalda the witch casts her spell for the good of the Burgund tribe. It has been close to a year since Sigfrid has been with Sigfrida. During that year she has given birth to a young daiughter,. Sigrfird has ventureed off and is now fighting foir the Burgunds who are called the Dragons of the Rhine.Set in the 5th century the Europena  continent is broiling in turmoil, in this frightening world alliances are everything. For King Gundahar to marry Brunhilda  would ally the Burgunds with the powerful Huns who grow stronger with each passing day. TO marry Gudrun with Sigfrid would be worthy mathc as well and would securre a great warrior for their tribe. Oaths are made spell are cast the web of wyrd will not be denied.Sigfrid forgets his vows to Brunhilda and little does he know that Gundahar is being set up to marry Brunhilda bybn the devious Grimhalda But the only person who can marry her is someone who can dfdfeat her in battle  Only Sigrid can do that. This is story of the old gods and old ways filled with treachery and suspense, The web of wyrd will have it's way. Being a wolf is not safe the od sacrifices will be honored.

  • Valerie
    2019-06-11 06:54

    I loved this series. It was much more readable than the opera! Plus...big fan of the sagas so this retelling of Siegfried and Brunhild.

  • Juan Gallardo Ivanovic
    2019-06-01 07:52

    After spending time together, Sigfrid and Brunahild had to separate each other. The ex-Walkyrie return to her people and wait Sigfrid, meanwhile he is in his stepfather's land to gain fame and glory. As he passes through burgundian land, he will become tied to it and will forsake to whom he loved before. He finally will met with King Gundohar, Hagano and - most important - the princess Gudrun.An Oath will bind them together and Brunahild will be brought to Borbetomagus to complete the circle.As Sigfrid becomes King Gundohar's most trusted champion, treachery and envy will grow on the realm to the same level of the hero's reputation. Treason and sorrow will be breeding on Burgundian soil and soon the Dragonslayer will have to tread the path that Fate has for him.------------------------------------ ***Comentary may contain spoilers, don't read it if you haven't finished the book***Splendid sequel set some months after the conclusion of The Wolf and The Raven. Paxson work with emotions and feelings has gone a way better than first book. Also the story has grown more mature including a better ambient and becoming more drama and intrigue oriented. The core of the Nibelung legend is well handled and delivered through a great cast of characters. The inner struggles of them are very understandable.Initially feeling part of the king's man, Sigfrid enters the world of man as kin to the Burgundian royal family. Even that he spends a lot of time in being the King's Champion, he never get used to living with men and becomes alienated by itself, understanding that he is a wolf among dogs. His previous relationship with Brunahild still haunts him and when she becomes Queen, he had to endure her bitter presence.In this novel we are witness to an emotionally weakened Sigfrid. He tries to conceal the fact that he is shapestrong and the fact that he took Brunahild's maidenhood, among some others things. He fears the outcome of ill-born decisions, and the reader feels that very well. Sorrow and treason had made Brunahild bitter and vengeful. She wields that resentment to King Gundohar, humiliating and despising him. Gundohar as well, will learn that love is not as he thought it should be and regrets his decision to marry Brunahild. It hasn't bring any joy to him so far.In the other side of the coin, we also see a naive Gudrun. She is not aware of all the deceit and scheming that the royal couple, Sigfrid and Hagan are in. She only knows that she loves Sigfrid and Sunnilda. She feels the trouble that Sigfrid is in but after the pain of bearing, she will not appease the fear and concern on Sigfrid's eyes.A great cast, that also has a good part of recurring and supporting characters such as Hagan, Aetius, Attila, Grimhild, Godomar, Gislahar, Waldhari and many more. Paxson improved the plot by setting the most important part of this legend with a solid base of people who feel and act according to their values and inner struggles, thus making the perfect mix between story and characters. They don't feel to the reader just as vehicles to tell the story, their deeds, decisions and passions ARE the story itself.Recommended to anyone want who like an fantasy-historic set drama and intrigue novel, and if you are used to the Nibelung myth, this will be an refreshing approach to it.Aside from this, the only let down is that despite the first novel novel being in kindle store (digital purchase), this one it doesn't. I had to import it to my country. You might have to do something similar or go to check into your library or local bookstore.

  • Lisa (Harmonybites)
    2019-05-26 05:13

    Like Paxson's Sharper Than a Serpent's Tooth, which I tried just before this novel, this had been on my bookshelves unread for years. Also like that book, this could be seen as professional fan fiction of sorts. Or historical fantasy in the vein of Mary Renault and Mary Stewart, with Serpent dealing with the King Lear legend, while this book deals with the legends inspiring Wagner's Ring of the Nibelung. It could be the reason I couldn't get into this book is that this is the second part of the series, and I've never read the first book, The Wolf and the Raven, but given my reaction to Paxson's other book, I don't think so. I think there's just something in the author's style and themes I can't connect to.I think it's that I find it all a little predictable, especially knowing the author's neopagan roots and close connections to Marion Zimmer Bradley, author of Mists of Avalon. It's as if I know what's going to come up before I even read it, especially since it seemed to be hewing pretty closely to Wagner's librettos. I thought the third person narrative flowed better than the first person of Serpent, but especially comparing it to similar books I don't think this added anything to the legends. Jack Whyte's take on the King Arthur legend, for instance, gave me a lot of pleasure in the clever ways it mixed myth and history, so that when the sword Excalibur turned out to be forged from a meteor, I was madly grinning. And with Colleen McCullough's Master of Rome series, I was impressed with how she rendered the Ancient Roman mindset, so when a classicist friend spoke of wanting dignitas in her career, I knew exactly what she meant. And Gillian Bradshaw's novels of the late Roman world didn't just enthrall by taking me to an ancient world, but immediately connected me to her characters. Compared to such novels, this felt routine.

  • Riobhcah
    2019-06-24 01:13

    So far, these first two volumes of Diana Paxson's retelling of the Germanic Saga of the journey and effects of Fafnir's Hoard, of Sigfrid and Sigdrifa/Brunnahild, and their Wyrd, has been amazing! She has woven a wonderful version of this classic Germanic tale. I'm just beginning the third book, "The Lord of Horses" (who is Brunnahild's kin, Atilla the Hun)and expecting to find it equally enthralling. I have read one of Ms. Paxson's non-fiction books also, "Taking up the Runes" and found her writing and research therein to be very good. To anyone interested in this lore and period of history, I would highly recommend this trilogy of books beginning with "The Wolf and the Raven," which was also excellent.

  • Fred Fisher
    2019-06-24 04:20

    Her version of the Sigfried/Brunhilda saga. I read it during my lunch time at work, so it took me a while. It was ok but kind of superficial plus I didn't like her version of the story. It's like Paxson tried to write a historical novel set in a time that there isn't much record of. This allowed her to take great liberties of course. I also felt that the characters had too much in the way of modern sensibilities and motivations. It didn't read like it was of the period, 5th Cent.CE.

  • Katelyn Patterson
    2019-05-31 03:02

    i got about half way into this book and i realized i had lost interest... i don't do that very often. but i know the story and this one was reading much more like a romance that i would like... pretty sure the words "throbbing member" were used. i might pick it up and finish it one day... even read the last book of the trilogy. but other shiny books caught my attention for the moment!

  • Derek
    2019-06-14 05:50

    Great fleshing out of the story, although don't be looking for a happy ending.

  • Kendra
    2019-06-04 06:54

    This book was far more interesting and fast paced compared to the 2nd book.

  • Diane Futo
    2019-06-18 07:09

    Excellent continuation of the saga of Sigfrid & Brunahild!